Home - Top Stories - Local Stories - Across Indian Country- Obituaries - Advertising - Classifieds - Subscribe - Contact Us- Events -- Email Us - Powwows - Sports Web Ads - Fort Hall Casino Jobs - Shoshone-Bannock Tribes Jobs- Across Indian Country Page -



Shoshone-Bannock Festival
Shoshone-Bannock Tribes
Official Website:

Shoshone-Bannock High School
Native American Journalist Association
BIA Regions, Agencies & Tribes


Thursday, 16 October, 2014

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Cree Dominguez hits the volleyball in the game against North Gem. (Alexandria Alvarez photo)

SB High Lady Chief seniors honored

Sho-Ban News
FORT HALL - On Thursday evening, October 9, the Lady Chiefs hosted North Gem at the Shoshone-Bannock Senior and Junior High School and went head to head with the North Gem Cowboys, starting with Junior Varsity.
During the first game the Lady Chiefs stayed even with the Cowboys and jumped ahead on the scoreboard for part of the time but would lose the first match 16-25. During the next game the Lady Chiefs kept a head of the Cowboys, however towards the end of the match North Gem began creeping up in points. The Lady Chiefs in the end lost 18-25.
After the Junior Varsity game, a special senior night presentation was held for six seniors: #23 Khailee Adakai, #25 Bree Baker, #21 Leticia Ahuatzi, #09 Shonda Dominguez, #11 Jawana Graves and #12 Alicia Madrigal.
Drum group Medicine Thunder was present to sing an honor song and each of the girls was gifted with a rose and portrait with various photos of each player along with their teammates. Families also gave senior gifts to the girls and shook their hands or gave them hugs.
After the brief presentation the Lady Chiefs Varsity took to the floor to once again play North Gem Cowboys. The Lady Chiefs paced themselves during the first game and lost 14-25.
During the second game the Lady Chiefs stayed a head for the majority of the game and did well to stay even with the Lady Cowboys, but would ultimately lose their match 16-25.

2014 Fort Hall Braves from back row, left to right: Coach JR Hall, Freddie Williams, Ezira Edmo, Kameron Mendez, David Montoya, Miguel Dawes, Charles Dixey, Tre Dixey, Dominic Buckskin and Coach Jamie Bache. Front row: Jared Marshall, Leo Bear, Hernan Tendoy, Nathan Tinno, Maceo Pebeahsy, Tanner Tohtoni, Ryson Johnson, Caden Bache and Jeremy Friday. Not pictured, Marius Sam. (Roselynn Wahtomy photos)

Turnovers result in Braves loss

Sho-Ban News
POCATELLO – The Fort Hall Braves lost to the SE Broncos 12-40 on Saturday, October 11 at Irving Middle School.
Coach Jamie Bache said the boys did good.
“They came back at the end to score a couple of touchdowns. We just took too long to get going and we cant do that,” he said. “Our turnovers is what hurt us the most because they scored on them. Other than those it would have been a closer game.”
The Braves played their last week for the Southeast Idaho Youth Football League but will play one more game against Owyhee on November 1. The time and location details are still being decided.

A Fort Hall Brave gains some yards in the team's loss to the Broncos.

Just Us wins coed & Wicked wins women's division in Volleyball Fundraiser Tourney

FORT HALL — Just Us won the coed category of the Volleyball Fundraiser while Wicked won the women’s division October 11 at Timbee Hall.
USA Diggers was second in the coed division. Third was Prix and fourth place was Team Utes.
Coed All Stars include: Alex Shavanaux of Team Utes; Richie Thompson of Prix; Joe Wadsworth of USA Diggers; Talen Samora of Just Us and the Most Valuable Player is Shayla Johnson of Just Us.
Game On placed second in the women’s division; I’d Hit That was third and Served Hot finished fourth.
Women All Stars include: Kia Pokibro of Served Hot, Jewels of I’d Hit That and Ruthelle of Game On. Most Valuable Players were Christelle and Marlo.


Fort Hall Warrior player carries the ball gaining ground. (Lori Edmo-Suppah photo)

Recreation News

Monday: Women’s volleyball; Tuesday Co-ed volleyball; Wednesdays: Co-ed basketball; Thursday: men and women’s three on three volleyball.
“Friday Fright Night at the Bottoms”
“Friday Fright Night at the Bottoms” is October 17 for girls and October 24 for boys. Must be 12 to 15 years old. First 15 to sign up in the Recreation office and with signed permission slip will get to go. Call Sister or Eddy with questions.
Timbee Hall hours
Fall hours are Monday to Thursday 6:30 a.m. to 8 p.m. Friday 6:30 a.m. to 6 p.m.